Ken Herts (left) with board members Paul Schmidt (center) and Laurence O'Donnell (right).

PRINCETON, N.J. — Ken Herts, a vice president of finance at Dow Jones & Co., was elected treasurer of the board of directors of the Dow Jones Newspaper Fund at its annual meeting on Nov. 7. He succeeds Thomas W. McGuirl, who recently retired from Dow Jones as vice president, tax.

Mr. Herts oversees finance for the Consumer Media Group, which includes The Wall Street Journal. He has held several upper-management positions in his 25-year career at Dow Jones, including publisher of The Wall Street Journal Europe and vice president and general manager at Dow Jones Newswires.

Richard J. Levine, president of the Fund’s board said, “Ken Herts possesses extensive experience in managing media finances. We are glad to have his considerable talents and expertise to assist the Fund at this critical time.”

Earlier this year, Les Hinton, CEO, and Gregory Giangrande, senior vice president, human resources, Dow Jones & Co., were elected to the board.

Mr. Levine and Barbara Martinez, a Wall Street Journal reporter, were re-elected president and secretary, respectively.

Other members of the Fund’s board are: Neal Lipschutz, senior vice president and managing editor, Dow Jones Newswires; Cathy Panagoulias, a deputy managing editor for The Wall Street Journal; Peter Kann, retired chairman, Dow Jones & Co.; Robin Gibson Sawyer, 2000 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year; Diana Mitsu Klos, senior project director, American Society of Newspaper Editors; Don Carter, first executive director; Dr. Reginald Owens, Louisiana Tech University; Dr. Rusty Todd, University of Texas, Austin; Melanie Kirkpatrick, deputy editorial page editor, The Wall Street Journal; Thomas E. Engleman, New Jersey Newspaper Foundation; Laurence O’Donnell, consultant, and Richard S. Holden, executive director.