PRINCETON, N.J. — Anna Sedgley, former chief operating officer at Dow Jones, has been elected to the board of directors of the Dow Jones News Fund.

Sedgley has two decades of experience working in executive roles in finance and planning for News Corp divisions in New York and London.

“We are delighted to welcome Anna to the Dow Jones News Fund board,” said Richard J. Levine, president of the board. “With her extensive knowledge of the media industry, leadership ability and strategic insight, she is an excellent addition to the board.”

Sedgley said, “I appreciate the opportunity to serve on the Dow Jones News Fund’s board of directors and contribute to its continued leadership in mentoring the next generation of journalists.”

Sedgley joined Dow Jones from Sky in London in 2009 as vice president finance for the enterprise media group. She was rapidly promoted to vice president for financial planning and analysis, senior vice president for finance, and executive vice president and chief financial officer before serving as COO from January 2017 until leaving the company at the end of last year.

As COO, Sedgley’s responsibilities included finance, technology, strategy, legal, print operations and delivery, real estate and facilities, event execution and security.

Sedgley is a Law and Commerce graduate from the University of Adelaide, Australia. She lives in Princeton, New Jersey, with her husband, son and dog.

Other News Fund board members are: LaSharah Bunting, journalism program director, The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation; Gail Griffin, head of digital platforms, U.S. intermediaries, T. Rowe Price; Garry D. Howard, director of corporate initiatives, American City Business Journals; Neal Lipschutz, deputy editor in chief, The Wall Street Journal; Diana Mitsu Klos, director of engagement, Student Press Law Center; Mark Musgrave, executive vice president, Dow Jones; Laurence G. O’Donnell, retired managing editor, The Wall Street Journal; Dr. Reginald Owens, retired Journalism Department chair, Louisiana Tech University; Karen Miller Pensiero, managing editor, The Wall Street Journal; Paul Schmidt, senior vice president, financial controls, News America Marketing; Dr. Russell G. Todd, professor emeritus, University of Texas at Austin; and former News Fund executive directors Richard S. Holden and Thomas E. Engleman.